Mayor and City Council

Mayor

Dean Brand
Two Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2021

Address: 500 Clarks Lane NE                                                          Phone: (515) 360-0774
Email: dean.brand@mitchellville.org

Retired Master Sergeant from the IA Army National Guard.

Currently, a contractor heading the Iowa Guard Military Funeral Honors Program.

Education:  Bachelor’s degree from Iowa State University in Agriculture Education.

Married to Roddy, father of 3 adult children and grandfather of 10.

Part of the Thomas Mitchell Days Committee.

Member of the Mitchellville United Methodist Church.

Co-Chair for the Polk County Master Gardeners Discovery Garden.

Volunteer at the Enabling Garden in Altoona.

Play in the Iowa State Alumni Marching Band and sing with Heartland Singers.

Council 

Steve Zook
Four Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2021
515-419-0998

Address:  205 2nd St NE

Email: steve.zook@mitchellville.org

Council Liaison – Park & Rec Commission

Little League Baseball President

Education: Southeast Polk High School Graduate

Iowa State University Graduate

Council

Nedra Hoover
Four Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2023

Address:  221 Center Ave. N.

Email:  nedra.hoover@mitchellville.org

Council Liaison – Tree Board

Council

LaBrent Lawler
Two Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2023

Address:  103 3rd St NW

Email:  llawler@mitchellville.org

Council Liaison – Planning & Zoning

Wife – Sue,  Children – Cameran & Mikaela.

Realtor for Iowa Realty Altoona

Council

Nicholas Murrow
Four Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2023

Address: 113 Second St. N.E.

Email: nicholas.murrow@mitchellville.org

Council Liaison: Library Board of Trustees

Marine Corps Veteran (Sergeant)

Military Awards:
Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Metal (2 Awards)
National Defense Service Medal
Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal
Korean Service Defense Medal
Sea Service Deployment Ribbon (6 Awards)
Meritorious Unit Commidation
Certificate of Commendation (3 Awards)
Letter of Appreciation (12 Awards)

Children: Natalie

Council

Bill Roberts
Four Year Term: Term expires December 31, 2021

Address: 105 6th St NW

Email: bill.roberts@mitchellville.org

Council Liaison: Board of Adjustments

Member of: Mitchellville Fire Department